HomeWorldIndia will play against Sri Lanka under the captaincy of Dhawan, 5...

India will play against Sri Lanka under the captaincy of Dhawan, 5 new faces including Padikkal are also part of the team

The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) has announced Team India for the Sri Lanka tour. This will be India’s second team. The first team is on a tour of England. Veteran opener Shikhar Dhawan will be the captain of the team on the Sri Lanka tour. Fast bowler Bhuvneshwar Kumar has been made the vice-captain.

Players who have performed brilliantly in IPL and domestic cricket have got a chance in the team. Devdutt Padikkal, Krishnappa Gautam, Chetan Sakaria, Rituraj Gaikwad, and Nitish Rana have been elected for the first time. The selectors announced the team on Thursday (June 10) night. Ishan Kishan and Sanju Samson have been included as wicketkeepers in the 20-man squad. Five players have been kept as standby. Among them are Ishan Porel, Sandeep Warrior, Arshdeep Singh, Sai Kishore, Simranjit Singh.

Karnataka opener Devdutt Padikkal, who has been in excellent form in the domestic circuit as well as in the IPL, has been included in the squad. Maharashtra and Chennai Super Kings (CSK) opener Rituraj Gaikwad has also been successful in winning the trust of the selectors. Also in the squad is Prithvi Shaw, who scored 827 runs while leading Mumbai in the Vijay Hazare Trophy earlier this year. He was the top scorer of the tournament.

Players like Rahul Chahar, Ishan Kishan, Suryakumar Yadav, who made it to the ODI and T20 International series against England, have retained their place in this team as well. Varun Chakravarthy, Navdeep Saini, and Deepak Chahar were also part of the team in that T20 series but they did not make it to the playing XI. He has also made his place in the team.

The selectors have also expressed confidence in Nitish Rana, who has consistently performed well in the IPL in the last few years. Manish Pandey is also back. Among the bowlers, the young and impressive Chetan Sakariya has made it to the team on the basis of his stellar performance during the first season of IPL 2021 earlier this year. Experienced Karnataka spinner Krishnappa Gautam has also been selected. He was sold at a great price in the IPL auction this year.

This is the Indian team going to tour Sri Lanka

Batsman: Shikhar Dhawan (Captain), Prithvi Shaw, Devdutt Padikkal, Rituraj Gaikwad, Suryakumar Yadav, Manish Pandey, Nitish Rana.

wicket-keeper: Ishan Kishan, Sanju Samson.

All-rounder: Hardik Pandya, Krunal Pandya.

Spinner: Yuzvendra Chahal, Rahul Chahar, Kuldeep Yadav, Varun Chakravarthy, Krishnappa Gautam.

Fast bowler: Bhuvneshwar Kumar (Vice-Captain), Deepak Chahar, Navdeep Saini, Chetan Sakaria.

Also Read: IPL 2021: BCCI release schedule of remaining matches, final will be held on Dussehra


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

- Advertisment -

Most Popular

Recent Comments